Honors Event Celebrates Outstanding Students

On April 20, the following students were recognized for their achievements throughout the past academic year.

This year’s annual Student Honors Celebration was held on April 20 at the Student Center Ballroom.

Students were recognized for academic excellence in addition to other outstanding achievements and leadership. Awards were given at both the Institute level and within individual colleges. See photos on Flickr.

Congratulations go out to the following students:

Institute Awards

  • Alvin M. Ferst Leadership and Entrepreneur Scholarship Award: Arjun Bir and Kaitlin Rizk
  • Georgia Tech Faculty Women’s Club Scholarships: Hannah Geil, Daniel Gurevich, Reed Morris, Margaret Tokos, Samantha Torres
  • Love Family Foundation Scholarship: Gueorgui  “George”  Tzintzarov and Charles Wang

College Academic Awards

College of Computing
  • Donald V. Jackson Fellowship: Devavret Makkar, Laurane Saliou, Akhilesh Srikanth
  • Marshall D. Williamson Fellowship: Varun Agrawal, Rachel Leroy, Samyukta Sherugar
  • Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award: Will Johnson
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award: Saurabh Kumar
Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts
  • Excellence in Applied Languages and Intercultural Studies (ALIS) Award: Elizabeth Clark
  • Homer Rice Award in History and Sociology of Technology and Science: Mario Bianchini
  • International Affairs Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award: Murry Smith
  • James Dean Young Writing Award: Emily King
  • Liam Rattray Award: Ana de Give and Reagan Johnson
College of Design
  • General Fellowship Award: Catherine Bisson
  • AIA Henry Adams Medal: Steven Fendley
  • Alpha Rho Chi Medal: Anna Frost
  • Stanley, Love-Stanley, P.C. Graduate Award: Zachary Hicks
  • Stanley, Love-Stanley, P.C. Undergraduate Award: James Garnett
Scheller College of Business
  • Chambless Wilbern McGill Perseverance Prize: Lonnie Williams
  • Norfolk Southern Scholarship: Courtney Naser
  • Dow Chemical-P. C. McCutcheon Prize for Outstanding Student Achievement in Business: Christopher Lung
  • Jennifer R. and Charles B. Rewis Award for Student Excellence in Accounting: Elizabeth Pickens
  • John R. Battle Award for Student Excellence: Daniel Obiorah
  • Naresh K. Malhotra Scholarship: Jill Domzalski
College of Sciences
  • Cynthia L. Bossart and James Efron Scholarship: Aaron Aizenman
  • Earth and Atmospheric Sciences (EAS) S. Rutt Bridges Award: Mary Francis McDaniel
  • Mehta Phingbodhipakkiya Undergraduate Memorial Scholarship: Carson Kirby
  • Nickelson-Sutherland Prize: Alexander Buser
  • Roger M. Wartell, Ph.D., and Stephen E. Brossette, M.D., Ph.D., Award for Multidisciplinary Studies in Biology, Physics, and Mathematics: Rachel Barker and Krishma Singal
  • Virginia C. and Herschel V. Clanton Jr. Scholarship: Carlin Zaprowski
  • Robert A. Pierotti Memorial Scholarship: Charles Wang
College of Engineering
  • Aerospace Engineering Outstanding Senior Scholar Award: Madison Lynn Luther
  • Donnell W. Dutton Outstanding Senior in Aerospace Engineering Award: Yijang Li
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement in Biomedical Engineering Award: Colin Huber
  • S.K. Jain Outstanding Research Award in Biomedical Engineering: Shohini Ghosh-Choudhary
  • G. D. Jain Outstanding Senior in Biomedical Engineering Award: Benjamin Ashby
  • Chair’s Award — Outstanding Chemical and Biomolecular Junior: Taylor Gherardi
  • Chair’s Award — Outstanding Chemical and Biomolecular Senior: David Umo
  • Buck Stith Outstanding Junior Award in Civil and Environmental Engineering: William Disser
  • School Chair’s Outstanding Senior Award in Civil Engineering: Corinna Slater
  • School Chair’s Outstanding Senior Award in Environmental Engineering: Grace Brosofsky
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering Undergraduate Research Award: Daniel Canales
  • Most Outstanding Electrical and Computer Engineering Senior Co-Op Award: Nicole Barcori
  • Outstanding Computer Engineering Senior Award: Ethan Everett
  • Outstanding Electrical Engineering Senior Award: Gueorgui  “George”  Tzintzarov
  • Alpha Pi Mu Academic Excellence Award: Alex Moran
  • Evelyn Pennington Outstanding Service Award: Harshil Goel
  • Institute of Industrial Engineers Excellence in Leadership Award: William  “Alex”  Berry and Cole Sutter
  • American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC) Student Chapter Award for Graduating Seniors: Garrett Lecroy
  • School of Materials Science and Engineering Outstanding Senior Award: Nicole Kennard and Marco Scaglia
  • Richard K. Whitehead Jr. Memorial Awards: John DiPrete, Brian Do, Kevin Pluckter, Seth Radman
  • School Chair’s Award — Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering: Chelsea Silberglied
  • Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering Outstanding Scholar Award: Franklin Hailey Brown II
  • Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Award — Nuclear and Radiological Engineering Program, School of Mechanical Engineering: Paul Burke
  • Davidson Family Tau Beta Pi Senior Engineering Cup: Hannah Greenwald
  • Helen E. Grenga Outstanding Woman Engineer Award: Emily Reinhard
  • COE Honors Day Awards: Andrew Denig, Emily Ferrando, Adam Fultz, Jonathan Jeffrey, Benjamin Lazar, Abigail McClain, Meghan Pollard, Michael Wang, Michael Waters, Jonathan Yaeger, Areesh Zindani