Students Recognized at Annual Honors Celebration

Several students were recognized for excellence this year at the annual Student Honors Celebration on Tuesday, April 16.
Student and parent at 2019 Student Honors Celebration

Student and parent at 2019 Student Honors Celebration

As the academic year nears its end, a season of celebration begins. Several students were recognized for excellence this year at the annual Student Honors Celebration on Tuesday, April 16.

See photos from the event on Flickr and read about the two students who shared this year's top honor.

The following students were recognized at this year's event:

College of Computing

Donald V. Jackson Fellowship

Anmol Chhabria, Cody O'Donnell, and Aditi Shah

Marshall D. Williamson Fellowship

Abhinaya Agrawal, Cusuh Ham, Hua Huang, and Pawan Suresh

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award

Tohid Shekari

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award

Tanner Muldoon


Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts

The Bellon Award

Lucy Groves

Excellence in Applied Languages and Intercultural Studies (ALIS) Award

Emily Adams

International Affairs Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award

Alex Emken

James Dean Young Writing Award

Kathryn Higinbotham

Outstanding Economics Student Award

Sarah Tinsley

Outstanding Public Policy Undergraduate Student Award

Shekinah Hall


College of Design

AIA Henry Adams Medal

Emily Wirt

Alpha Rho Chi Medal

Noah Sannes

Industrial Designers Society of America Student Merit Award

Kristin Andreassen

John and Joyce Caddell Fellowship Award

Yulizza Henao-Barragan

Kim Scott Logan Award

Kate Bosen

Stanley, Love-Stanley, P.C. Award

Joel Jassu and Motuma Tulu

AIOP Outstanding Student Award

Laura Geronimo


Ernest Scheller Jr. College of Business

Dow Chemical-P.C. McCutcheon Prize for Outstanding Student Achievement in Business

Hannah Koenraad

Jennifer R. and Charles B. Rewis Award for Student Excellence in Accounting

Madeline Whitridge

John R. Battle Award for Student Excellence

Roopal Goel

Naresh K. Malhotra Scholarship for Marketing Research

Trisha Hariani


College of Sciences

A. Joyce Nickelson and John C. Sutherland Prize

Mathilda Avirett-Mackenzie

Cynthia L. Bossart and James Efron Scholarship

Katherine Roberts

Larry S. O’Hara Fellowship

Alli Gombolay and Dominic Sirianni

Mehta Phingbodhipakkiya Undergraduate Memorial Scholarship

Steven Creech

Roger M. Wartell, Ph.D., and Stephen E. Brossette, M.D., Ph.D. Award for Multidisciplinary Studies in Biology, Physics, and Mathematics 

Daniel Gurevich

Virginia C. and Herschel V. Clanton Jr. Scholarship

Rebecca Durham

College-Wide Award

Robert A. Pierotti Memorial Scholarship

Connor Huddleston


College of Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering Outstanding Senior Scholar Award

Cason Butler

Donnell W. Dutton Outstanding Senior in Aerospace Engineering Award

Frank Kozel

Biomedical Engineering

G.D. Jain Outstanding Senior in Biomedical Engineering Award 

Brandon Krupczak

Outstanding Academic Achievement in Biomedical Engineering Award

Samantha Stammen

S.K. Jain Outstanding Research Award in Biomedical Engineering

Siyi "Sophie" Li

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Chair’s Award — Outstanding Chemical and Biomolecular Junior

Grant Larkin

Chair’s Award — Outstanding Chemical and Biomolecular Senior

Jade Marcus

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Buck Stith Outstanding Junior Award in Civil and Environmental Engineering

Haley Callaway, Santiago Escobar, Emile Kanazi, and Laura Yang

School Chair’s Outstanding Senior Award in Civil Engineering

Daniel Rosborough

School Chair’s Outstanding Senior Award in Environmental Engineering

Claire Anderson

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering Undergraduate Research Award

Sebastian Fernandez

Most Outstanding Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Senior Co-Op Award

Justin Kyaw Htay

Outstanding Computer Engineering Senior Award

Victor Barr

Outstanding Electrical Engineering Senior Award

Lara Orlandic

Industrial Engineering

Alpha Pi Mu Academic Excellence Award

Sarah Carpenter and Michael Wang

Evelyn Pennington Outstanding Service Award

Felipe Galarza

Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers Excellence in Leadership Award

Arjun Patra

Materials Science and Engineering

American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC) Student Chapter Award for Graduating Senior

Carolyn Stanek

School of Materials Science and Engineering Outstanding Senior Award

Michael Xu

Mechanical Engineering

George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering Outstanding Scholar Award

Matthew Hunter

George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering School Chair’s Award

Emily Kamienski

Richard K. Whitehead Jr. Memorial Awards

Andrew Cahill, Noel Csomay-Shanklin, Alana Homa, and Austin Matthews

Nuclear and Radiological Engineering

Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Award — Nuclear and Radiological Engineering Program

Aaron Sommer

College-Wide Awards

COE Honors Day Awards

Christopher Adams, Timothy Hums, Nicholas Joaquin, Megan Kaiser, Savannah Jade Langer, Madison Moitoso, William Nute, Shane Pornprinya, Matthew Reese, Ira Soltis, and Chase Warner

Davidson Family Tau Beta Pi Senior Engineering Cup

Hannah Kriscovich


Institute Awards

Jordan Lockwood Peer Tutor of the Year

Cassidy Reese

CommLab Center Assistant of the Year

Rocio Soto

Outstanding Tutor Award

Talha Khawaja

Outstanding PLUS Leader Award

Julie Leonard-Duke

Alvin M. Ferst Leadership and Entrepreneur Scholarship Award

Jhillika Kumar, Collin Spencer

Georgia Tech Faculty Women’s Club Scholarships

Miles Barros, Bethany Bell, Noah Bryant, Abigail Chambless, Isabella Stubbs, and Simone Tennyson

Love Family Foundation Scholarship

Ángel “Alex” Cabrera and Meredith Wolpert