Next Cohort of Emerging Leaders Program Selected

The eighth cohort of Georgia Tech’s Emerging Leaders Program has been selected.

The eighth cohort of Georgia Tech’s Emerging Leaders Program has been selected. Starting in December 2023 and continuing through Spring 2024, participants will take part in several leadership development activities, including a kick-off retreat, regular workshops and small group work during the Spring, and leadership coaching. This is the first year the program has been open to senior and principal non-tenure track faculty and research faculty.

“On behalf of Institute leadership, we are proud to welcome the next cohort of the Emerging Leaders Program and to have opened the program to a broader representation of individuals looking to further their leadership aspirations,” said Steven W. McLaughlin, provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs. “This intensive program is an excellent professional investment for these academic and research faculty and we applaud their commitment to their careers and to the Institute.” 

The eighth cohort includes the following faculty members:

College of Computing

  • Betsy DiSalvo, Associate Professor, School of Interactive Computing

College of Design

  • Maureen Linden, Executive Director, Center for Inclusive Design and Innovation
  • Tarek Rakha, Associate Professor, School of Architecture

College of Engineering

  • Aaron Young, Associate Professor, George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering
  • John A. Christian, Associate Professor, Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering
  • Omer Inan, Professor, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Santiago Grijalva, Professor, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Sheng Dai, Associate Professor, School of Civic and Environmental Engineering
  • Amit Jariwala, Director of Design and Innovation, George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering
  • Dima Nazzal, Director of Professional Practice, H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering

College of Sciences

  • John Wise, Professor, School of Physics
  • Pamela Peralta-Yahya, Associate Professor, School of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts

  • Allen Hyde, Associate Professor, School of History and Sociology

Office of Undergraduate Education

  • Amy D’Unger, Interim Director and Associate Director, Honors Program

Georgia Tech Research Institute

  • Dana Forsthoefel Fitzgerald, Principal Research Engineer, Sensors and Electromagnetic Applications Laboratory

Institute for People and Technology

  • Clint Zeagler, Principal Research Scientist

The Emerging Leaders Program started in 2016 and is a collaboration between the Office of the Provost, the Office of the Executive Vice President for Research, the Institute for Leadership and Social Impact, and the Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty.