New Cohort of ACC Academic Leaders Network Fellows Selected

Five Georgia Tech faculty members have been selected for the 2024 program.

Five Georgia Tech faculty members have been selected for the 2024 ACC Academic Leaders Network (ACC ALN) Fellows program. The ALN program is designed to foster cross-institutional networking and collaboration between ACC schools, while increasing the academic leadership capacity within each institution.  

The new cohort includes:  

  • Gulsah Akar, Professor and Chair, School of City and Regional Planning, College of Design 

  • Elizabeth Cherry, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, School of Computational Science and Engineering, College of Computing 

  • Javier Irizarry, Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Outreach, School of Building Construction, College of Design 

  • Kyriaki Kalaitzidou, Rae S. and Frank H. Neely Professor and Associate Chair for Faculty Development, George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering 

  • Lewis Wheaton, Professor and Director of C-PIES, School of Biological Sciences, College of Sciences 

The ACC ALN program strengthens a culture of community, enhances relationships among faculty across the Institute and conference, and enables Georgia Tech to foster a climate of leadership. In 2024, fellows will participate in three in-person conferences at Clemson University, the University of Louisville, and North Carolina State University. Fellows form project teams around topics of interest, develop a paper or other deliverable, and present their findings at the final conference in November. 

Explore ALN program details and find out about current and past Georgia Tech fellows, here.